BOULDER RIFLE AND PISTOL CLUB
Boulder City, NV.

Training: Concealed Carry Weapon / Concealed Firearm Permit Classes

BRPC CCW Training

The Boulder Rifle and Pistol Club provides training in Concealed Carry Weapon / Concealed Firearm Permit by Nevada and Utah certified instructors.

Training Dates and Times:

The current dates of the training conducted by the Boulder Rifle and Pistol Club can be found on the Events Calendar page.

Class Registration:

The Boulder Rifle and Pistol Club does not accept pre-class registration for any Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon ( C.C.W. ) and Utah Concealed Firearm Permit ( C.F.P. ) classes. Registration is on a first come, first served bases at the class location and closes at the start of the class.

Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon and Utah Concealed Firearm Permits Class

The Boulder Rifle and Pistol Club provides two combined Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon ( C.C.W. ) and Utah Concealed Firearm Permit ( C.F.P. ) classes per year. The Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon and Utah Concealed Firearm Permits Class consists of 7 hours of classroom instruction on Saturday that covers the Utah specific requirements and common issues for both states, 2 more hours of classroom instruction on Sunday that covers the Nevada specific requirements and 1 hour of range instruction that covers both permits. Permit paperwork will be supplied for both States.

Please Note: The state of Utah requires residents of states that are in reciprocity with Utah to have a C.C.W. permit from their state of residence. This requirement does not apply to residences of other states, such as Nevada. See the State of Utah Department of Public Safety Conceal Fire Permit web site for information on your state.

Required equipment: Students must provide a strong side only belt holster, hearing protection, eye protection, a hat with a brim, a pistol, two magazines/speed loaders and 100 rounds of Factory Ammunition. One pistol qualification covers all semi-automatic pistols, revolvers, derringers and other pistols.

For those who wish learn how to shoot a pistol and are concerned about the legalities of home defense, but do not want a State Carry Permit. They may attend one of the Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon and Utah Concealed Firearm Permits Classes and receive the same training for a nominal amount. The age limitation is 16 and you do not have to own the pistol you bring to the class.

Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon Renewal

The Boulder Rifle and Pistol Club provides two Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon ( C.C.W. ) Renewal classes per year. The Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon Renewal class consists of 3 hours of classroom time and 1 hour of range time that covers the Nevada requirements. Permit paperwork will be supplied.

This class covers the State of Nevada requirments for Honorably Retired Law Enforcement.

Required equipment: Students must provide a strong side only belt holster, hearing protection, eye protection, a hat with a brim, a pistol, two magazines/speed loaders and 50 rounds of Factory Ammunition. One pistol qualification covers all semi-automatic pistols, revolvers, derringers and other pistols.

Utah Concealed Firearm Permits Renewal

The state of Utah does not require additional training to renew the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit. Applications for renewal can be obtained directly from the State of Utah Department of Public Safety Conceal Fire Permit web site.

Training Location:

Boulder Rifle and Pistol Club Training Bays and Classroom A on the Courtesy Range.

Training Costs:

Class registration and fee collection is handled during the 30 minutes prior to the class start.
All Events Calendar start times indicate registration/fee collection start time. Instruction starts 30 minutes later.

$80.00 Nevada CCW
$80.00 Utah CFP
$120.00 Both Nevada CCW and Utah CFP
$20.00 Nevada Renewal CCW. Honorably Retired Law Enforcement.

The following discounts apply to all CCW/CFP training except Nevada Renewal CCW or Honorably Retired Law Enforcement.

$25.00 B.R.P.C. Member. This discount is applied once only.
Half Price Active Duty Military. Presentation of military I.D. at the training event is required. This discount is not cumulative with the membership discount.

Clarification of Acceptable Factory Ammunition:

Any original or re-manufactured ammunition produced by a commercial vendor for general shooting. No hand loads. No specialty ammunition.

Concealed Carry Weapon Frequently Asked Questions

  1. If you have a permit, do you have to take all of the training?
     Yes, all states require full training for their permit in their designated instruction.
  2. Nevada pistol action requirements?
    None. As of October 1, 2013 the State of Nevada as dropped the pistol action requirements. Only one pistol is required to qualify.
  3. Can two people not married to each other put the same gun or guns on their LVMPD Blue Cards?
     Yes, but it is not recommended. Refer to LVMPD for the final answer on Blue Cards. See the note on LVMPD Blue Cards below.
  4. Can two people married to each other put the same gun or guns on their LVMPD Blue Cards?
     Yes. Refer to LVMPD for the final answer on Blue Cards.
  5. I am a Boulder City resident, do I have to have a LVMPD Blue Cards?
     No, but it is recommended if you plan to leave Bouolder City with your pistol. Refer to LVMPD for the final answer on Blue Cards.
  6. Marking requirements on Pistols for Nevada?
     All pistols for Nevada require make, model and serial number to be stamped on the pistol.
  7. Utah pistol action requirements?
     None. Utah permits the person, not the firearms.
  8. How is the class scheduled?
     All Utah class requirements are completed on Saturday.
     The Nevada law requirements are completed on Sunday morning.
     Both state permit range requirements are completed on Sunday afternoon.
  9. When do I pay for my Training?
     During the 30 minutes before the start of first training session, usually between 8:30 and 9:00 AM.
  10. If I am doing one permit, do I have to stay through all of the classroom training?
     No.
     A Nevada permit only student can leave between 3 and 3:30 PM on Saturday.
     A Utah permit only student only comes to the afternoon range session on Sunday.
  11. If I do not make all of the required sessions can I still pass the class?
     No.
  12. What is the passing grades?
     For the written tests for both states: 70 percent.
     For the range qualifications: 70 percent.
  13. Why the Factory Ammunition requirement?
     For safety reasons. Several firearms have been destroyed by home loads during the first few years of doing these classes.
  14. How are breaks and meals handled during the class?
     On Saturday, a one hour break for lunch is taken. It is enough time to go into town for lunch.
     On Sunday, please bring your lunch. There will only be a 30 minute break between the class room and range.
     Breaks are taken every 60 - 90 minutes based on the material.
  15. Does the Boulder City law about no pistols outside of a carry case apply to Conceal Carry Permitees?>
     First, the Boulder City or the North Las Vegas law never applied to someone carrying concealled who has a vaild permit on them.
     Second, Nevada is NOT a home rule state, city or county laws do not supersede state law, unless the state law specifically allows it.
     Finally, both Boulder City and North Las Vegas have dropped enforcement their laws and are recinding or amending them.
  16. Can I get training for a Florida Permit?
     The state of Florida does not require a specific training class. However, you must have required firearm safety training. Completing either Nevada or Utah training and receiving your permit for either state, meets the requirements for Florida. The package for Florida can be obtained at Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing along with a full list of training requirements.

Note on LVMPD Blue Cards: The LVMPD Blue Card is not required for the training or CCW paperwork, it is required for carrying a firearm in LVMPD jurisdiction and the name on the card must match the name of the person carrying the firearm. A single firearm can have multiple LVMPD Blue Cards.

More Information:

State of Nevada Sheriff’s & Chiefs’ Association.
State of Utah Department of Public Safety Conceal Fire Permit web site.
Clark County Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department Concealed Firearms Permit web site.
Contact the Training Lead for Boulder Rifle and Pistol Club, training@brpc1.org.